Last updated:

💵 Data Breach Settlements Open Now: Deadlines, Payouts and Fake Sites

Which data breach settlements are taking claims, which are paying, and how to tell a real claim site from the copies built to steal your details. Checked monthly.

Quick answer: Dozens of data breach settlements are taking claims right now. Most pay a small flat amount, typically $25 to $100, or more if you can document losses. Only claim through the address on your official notice, and never pay a fee. Real administrators don’t charge one Fox News (13 Oct 2025).

Check the notice, not the ad. Your notice carries a claim ID and the official site. Type that address yourself. Fake claim sites ask for your full Social Security number, show payout estimates up front, or add countdown timers Fox News (13 Oct 2025).

Which data breach settlements are open now?

These are the larger open settlements with a published fund, plus a few well-known names. Deadlines are for filing a claim. Confirm every detail on the official site or your notice before you file.

SettlementFundWhat you can claimClaim deadline
Columbia University (2025 cyberattack)$16.125MUp to $8,500 documented losses, or a cash share (about $100 estimated), plus monitoring. Official site: ColumbiaUniversityDataSettlement.com Settlement Insight (Oct 2026)21 Jan 2027 (opt out by 22 Dec 2026)
DaVita (2025 ransomware)Up to $15MAbout $50 cash, or up to $2,500 documented losses, plus three years of monitoring. Official site: DVACyberattackSettlement.com Settlement Insight19 Jan 2027
ECSI$6.5MUp to $5,000 documented (about $100 estimated) Open Class Actions list (read 5 Nov 2026)21 Dec 2026
AMCA / Sonic Healthcare$6.44MUp to $5,000 documented (about $50 estimated) Open Class Actions list (read 5 Nov 2026)4 Jan 2027
Telmate / ViaPath$4.225MUp to $5,000 documented plus an equal share Open Class Actions list (read 5 Nov 2026)21 Dec 2026
ARcare$3.9MUp to $5,000 documented (about $100 estimated) Open Class Actions list (read 5 Nov 2026)7 Jan 2027
Covenant Health$2MUp to $5,000 documented (about $75 share) Open Class Actions list (read 5 Nov 2026)30 Dec 2026
Kisco Senior Living$1.8MUp to $10,000 documented Open Class Actions list (read 5 Nov 2026)19 Jan 2027
American Vision Partners$1.75MUp to $3,000 documented or a share Open Class Actions list (read 5 Nov 2026)12 Nov 2026
Warner Music Group$1.25MAbout $50 ($100 in California) Open Class Actions list (read 5 Nov 2026)22 Jan 2027
FinastraNot statedUp to $2,500 documented or a cash share Open Class Actions list (read 5 Nov 2026)27 Nov 2026
Pillsbury law firmNot statedUp to $3,000 documented plus a cash share Open Class Actions list (read 5 Nov 2026)7 Dec 2026

Open Class Actions listed 89 open data breach settlements on 5 November 2026, most with deadlines before February 2027 Open Class Actions list (read 5 Nov 2026). Most are small: a hospital, a law firm, a payroll provider. If you got a breach letter in 2024 or 2025, search its company name there, then use the official site.

Which big settlements are paying out?

SettlementStatusSource
AT&T, $177M (2024 breaches)Claims closed 18 Dec 2025. Final approval granted. Payments could begin December 2026 to early 2027 if there are no appeals. Estimates: about $40 for SSN exposure, $7 to $8 for other dataFOX 5 DC (27 Oct 2026)
Apple Siri, $95MClaims closed 2 July 2025. Payments of up to $20 per device began 23 January 2026. Apple denies wrongdoingNBC Washington (20 Feb 2026)
Comcast / Xfinity, $117.5MClaims closed 14 September 2026. Official site: comcastbreachsettlement.comsettlement press release (2026)

How do I spot a fake settlement site?

  • It asks for too much. Real claim forms usually want the last four digits of your SSN, if anything. The Equifax site asked for six Fox News (13 Oct 2025).
  • It tells you what you will get. Real administrators calculate payments only after the claim period closes Fox News (13 Oct 2025).
  • It reached you by text or DM. Settlement notices come by post or email Fox News (13 Oct 2025).
  • It wants a fee. Real administrators never charge to file or to release a payment Fox News (13 Oct 2025).
  • The address is off. Look for add-ons such as “secure-pay” or “claims-pay” Fox News (13 Oct 2025). Our domain lookup shows when a site was registered.
  • It rushes you. Countdown timers and 24-hour deadlines are a warning sign Fox News (13 Oct 2025).

For FTC refund programmes, start from ftc.gov/enforcement/refunds Fox News (13 Oct 2025). Report fake claim sites to ReportFraud.ftc.gov.

How do I file a claim, and is it worth it?

  1. Find your notice. Most claims need the notice ID or PIN printed on it Settlement Insight.
  2. Pick a payment type. The flat cash option needs no proof. Documented losses need receipts or statements; self-made notes usually don’t count Settlement Insight (Oct 2026).
  3. Take the credit monitoring if offered. It is often the most valuable part, and it costs nothing.
  4. Wait. Money arrives only after final approval and any appeals. Cash cheques promptly; some expire in 90 days Settlement Insight (Oct 2026).

Filing a claim usually means you give up the right to sue separately. Opting out keeps that right but gets you nothing from the settlement. This is general information, not legal advice.

Frequently asked questions

What data breach settlements can I claim right now?

Open ones include Columbia University (claim by 21 Jan 2027), DaVita (19 Jan 2027), ECSI (21 Dec 2026) and AMCA/Sonic Healthcare (4 Jan 2027). Check your notice and the official site before filing.

When will the AT&T data breach settlement pay?

Claims closed on 18 December 2025. After final approval, payments could begin between December 2026 and early 2027 if there are no appeals.

How do I know if a settlement site is real?

Use the address on your official notice and type it yourself. Fake sites ask for your full SSN, quote payouts up front, add countdown timers or charge a fee.

Do I need proof to claim a data breach settlement?

Not for the flat cash payment, which usually needs only your notice ID. To claim documented losses you need receipts or statements.

How much do data breach settlements pay?

Most flat payments are small, often $25 to $100, and shrink as more people claim. Documented losses can be reimbursed up to the cap, often $2,500 to $5,000.

Do I give anything up by filing a claim?

Usually yes: you give up the right to sue the company separately over the same breach. Opting out keeps that right but means no settlement payment.